Skip to content

New Centre for Study of Muslim Societies

23 June, 2009

Next month the University of Western Sydney will be launching a new Centre for the Study of Contemporary Muslim Societies.  Here are the details of the Centre and the launch:

Launch of the new Centre for the Study of Contemporary Muslim Societies

The University of Western Sydney is its new Centre for the Study of Contemporary Muslim Societies on the 16th of July, 2009 (Sydney, Bankstown Campus, Lecture Theatre 4, Building 23)

Prof. Jim Beckford (Warwick University, UK), Prof. Riaz Hassan (Flinders University), Prof. Fethi Mansouri (Deakin University), A/Prof. Gabriele Marranci (UWS), and Prof. Bryan Turner (UWS) will be
speaking on the day.

A copy of the program for the launch can be downloaded at

http://tinyurl.com/mqkwrj and the invitation can be found at the following URL http://tinyurl.com/nceisinvite

For more information or to RSVP, please contact Judy Crabb, Executive Officer, College of Arts: j.crabb@uws.edu.au, or (02) 9772 6765.

Attendees are welcome to attend the dinner but bookings for this are essential.

The development of this Centre has been assisted by a Federal Government grant of $8m which established the National Centre of Excellence for Islamic Studies and brings together the University of
Melbourne, Griffith University, and the University of Western Sydney. Collaboration between these institutions has already established a new undergraduate program in Islamic studies.

The Director of the Research Centre is Professor Bryan Turner,Professor of Social and Political Thought in the School of Humanities and Languages in the College of Arts.

The Research Centre is essentially concerned with the contemporary world and will seek to foster comparative studies of Muslim communities both within and outside Australia.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 July, 2009 7:03 pm

    Dear all,
    I am writing now to clarify my position as far as the above new center, The Center for the Study of Contemporary Muslim Societies, is concerned. The idea of this center started with my earlier endeavors, and my journal, which I founded at the University of Aberdeen. I discussed further this idea with Prof. Bryan Turner, and as we both moved to UWS, I worked with him towards establishing the center.

    Unfortunately, my role within the center has been gravely marginalized in the past few months, and Prof. Bryan Turner is now the only Director (UWS lacks the position of Deputy Director for their centers) and is solely responsible for setting the agenda and program (as well as appointments) for this new center.

    After careful consideration, although I will still be based in UWS, I have decided to leave the center (despite contributing to its establishment) and remain a critical observer of its future developments. Indeed, it is important and relevant (and it has been omitted from all communication provided by the center) that the Director, Prof. Bryan Turner, will not be based, other than for three months per year, at the center since he is currently Alona Evans Distinguished Visiting Professor of Sociology at Wellesley College Boston at least until 2012-13.

    Due to the situation, the lengthy absence of a director in the most important, often crucial, days of this new center as well as a lack in clear program and strategy, I had to come to the conclusion that I could not, at this stage, contribute to the center any further.

    Hence, let me stress that neither my journal, Contemporary Islam, nor my blog or any other aspect of my work conducted so far are expressions of, or affiliated to, this center, and instead are entirely my own personal (yet in the case of the journal, including my co-editor and editorial board) endeavor.

    Gabriele Marranci
    Associate Professor, UWS
    http://uws.clients.squiz.net/humanities_languages/shl/key_people/academic_staff/gabriele_marranci

  2. 17 July, 2009 5:25 pm

    The problem with the whole lot of Academics without much knowledge of Islamic Sacred sciences, is their arrogance despite their ignorance.

    This Centre is yet another example of complete disregard to what Islam really stands for. In the name of “contemporary Muslim societies” a whole bunch ignorant sociologists continue to redefine the facts of Islam through their implicit and selective teachings, labelled as “sociology”. Woe to them all!

  3. 18 July, 2009 2:49 pm

    It’s a very good implementation.

  4. 5 August, 2009 4:55 pm

    Dear all,
    I am very concerned about the level of freedom of speech and academic freedom existing within the University of Western Sydney (in particular when, as in the post above, solely, and unchallenged, actual facts have been reported) .

    As you may notice from comparing the cache version of my UWS profile page with the one active now, not only has the link to this blog been removed from the personal academic webpage, but also the link to my British Academy report I wrote for my research on Muslim prisoners within the UK prisons!

    I can only express surprise about the decision of removing the link to my blog and even more about the decision to remove the link to the pdf of a British Academy sponsored report.

    Indeed, I have never received any official complain from UWS about the facts which I have been stated in the above post (which, if needed, may be easily proved in a court-room) nor I have been informed of the intention to remove the links from my profile webpage.

    Gabriele

  5. 1 October, 2009 12:08 am

    Dear all,

    just to let you know that I have decided to resign from University of Western Sydney.

    For whom wishes to contact me now, it can visit my blog or write to g.marranci@gmail.com

    Best wishes
    Gabriele

Leave a Reply

