Skip to content

Dance your thesis

19 February, 2009

University of Sydney’s Holly High brought this to my attention.  Why are there no anthropologists dancing their thesis?

Even if there are no anthros, at least this year’s winner (dancing “The role of vitamin D in beta cell function”) is at an Australian university.  Aussie Aussie Aussie, Oi Oi Oi!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 February, 2009 11:37 pm

    I definitely would have done this had I known about it! I’ll have to keep my eyes open for the opportunity next year. I once did an interpretive dance of the Popol Vuh as an undergrad in an honors seminar and just last week suggested to a colloquium speaker that he do an interpretive dance of his talk when the computer wouldn’t open his power point.

  2. Costa permalink
    20 February, 2009 2:26 pm

    I find that it would bring another dimention to a talk: but a whole thesis being danced, would be very hard, I imagine.

  3. anthromodernity permalink
    22 February, 2009 3:38 am

    I love this idea with combining science and artform of dancing!

  4. M.Eagle permalink
    22 February, 2009 11:00 am

    I imagine it would be more difficult if the thesis/dissertation were mostly theory, but if it isnt then I can totally see this working out.

Leave a Reply

