Skip to content

The angst of anticipation

30 October, 2008

I know it’s not anthropology, but. Can I just say. That I cannot concentrate. On anthropology or anything else. Because all I can think about are the U.S. elections. I just tore myself away from the Obama ’08 website because I was staring at it and starting to cry. I, who regularly pronounce my pompous disdain for patriotism, I just bought an American flag online, and had it shipped by express mail, so that it will arrive in time so that when Obama wins, less than a week from now, I can run through this Australian university campus waving the flag above my head and hooting. Somebody, please, help me to recover the dignity of ironic detachment from politics. I need to go back to editing thesis drafts for my students.

–L.L. Wynn

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 October, 2008 11:54 pm

    You are not alone! I just spent an ungodly amount of money on Obama t-shirts for the whole family and I check huffington post throughout the day waiting for the other shoe to drop🙂 Just 5 more days!

    -Kim

  2. 31 October, 2008 9:42 am

    No kidding, Kim. I wake up thinking about Barack Obama the first thing in the morning. I think my husband thinks about Obama as much as I do, and he’s Canadian.

  3. Denice Szafran permalink
    31 October, 2008 1:24 pm

    I can’t help you, besides HuffPo I read several other sources, and I can’t seem to focus on my work, or grading papers, or anything but next Tuesday night. I need to find a way to integrate my interest into my lessons, but I don’t think that’s going to happen. I am just waiting.

  4. 1 November, 2008 7:45 pm

    I’m in the same boat. I’ve been overseas for 19 years, but I compulsively flip through all the news stations here in Bali looking for information on the election. My wife and neighbors all contribute to this. Obama is incredibly popular here in Indonesia as they see him as a candidate of peace and tolerance towards Muslims.

  5. 3 November, 2008 12:02 am

    Well, be grateful you aren’t working in a ‘swing state.’ I just started a job in Wisconsin and boy did I get sucked into the volunteering. It’s hard to explain to these young, passionate, idealistic campaign organizers who have spent the last 21 months moving from state-to-state, devoted to Obama’s campaign that, yes, I really do have to grade papers rather than canvass. I hate calling strangers, I hate going door-to-door, and yet I have done it for Obama. This weekend – NO POLITICAL NEWS! because I have to finish all my lectures, exams, etc. — I’m spending all day as a poll watcher to prevent dirty tricks.
    Obama had better win or a lot of people are going to be deeply deeply deeply depressed.

  6. 3 November, 2008 7:44 am

    Bruce, Denice, Kate, I feel for you all. Only 2 more days! Kate, I’m so happy to hear that you’re going to be a poll watcher, and I know exactly what you mean about how hard it is to canvass. I don’t know what I’d say if someone tried to argue with me about McCain vs Obama. Probably I’d say something like, “For God’s sake, don’t be an idiot, just vote for Obama already!” and that would not serve the cause.

Trackbacks

  1. A eleição de Obama vista pelos “antro-blogues” « Comunidade Imaginada

Leave a Reply

