Skip to content

AAA annual meeting online submissions (and where are those blogs?)

21 February, 2008

The American Anthropological Association just sent me an e-mail announcing that online submissions and registration for the 2008 annual meeting is now available on their website. It also says:

Notice something new? The AAA has recently launched a redesigned website. The website links to three new blogs: Anthropology News, AAA Public Affairs and AAA Human Rights. Let us know what you think about the site by completing our three-minute web survey.

I like to think of myself as not completely Internet illiterate, since I’ve put up a few websites in my day*, but I swear it took me about 20 minutes to find the blogs by navigating through their website. How do they expect anyone to find the blogs when the only links to them are embedded several layers deep within the website? Aside from that clue, I won’t tell you how to find it — any sleuths amongst you who can go searching and report back here on how long it took you to find the blogs?

–L.L. Wynn

* I’m reluctant to send people over to my favorite because it loads so slowly from Australia, even if you have a fast connection, and that’s clearly a design flaw, but it’s really pretty! Okay, if you insist, go on, have a look — it probably won’t be up there for much longer, since I left Princeton months ago, but it’s nice of them to keep it up there for now. I also designed and put up medicationabortion.com, which is a multilingual health info site written by Dr Angel M Foster and sponsored by Ibis Reproductive Health, and the Arabic version of ec.princeton.edu, another reproductive health website authored by Angel Foster and translated by Aida Rouhana.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

